Team Awards: Herman Elfring Community Relations Award

The Herman Elfring Community Relations Award is given to the Lethbridge Hurricane that best represents the team in the community. The Hurricanes commit hundreds of hours annually within the community, connecting with thousands of children, hockey players, fans, community organizations, and community members.

This year’s recipient of the Herman Elfring Community Relations Award is Hurricanes forward Dino Kambeitz.


Acquired in the off-season, Kambeitz joined the Hurricanes from the Victoria Royals and quickly made an impact in Lethbridge, both on and off the ice. With extended family in Lethbridge, Kambeitz embraced the Lethbridge community as his own. He was the forefront for community engagements, he was always the first to sign up for community events. Kambeitz visited numerous schools to read with students, run class activities with students, share his hockey experience, talk about bullying, concussion awareness, and the importance of education.

PB1_5177 PB1_5244

He joined fans at the Lethbridge Therapeutic Riding Association’s Ride into Christmas event, went bowling with the Hockey Hounds, delivered teddy bears to children at the Chinook Regional Hospital (CRH) and also baked goods for those taking part in the Care from the Heart Radiothon for CRH.

PB1_3948 dino1

On top of that, he arranged for himself and some teammates to attend two ringette practices to learn the game, and help coaches run the drills. Kambeitz also attended various minor hockey practices, he joined fans at the Copperwood Street Hockey event, took part in the AMA skate for school safety patrollers, and helped serve breakfast at the Lethbridge Soup Kitchen.

Photo 2020-01-06, 6 38 44 AM Photo 2020-01-06, 7 02 07 AM

On the ice, in his first season in Lethbridge, Kambeitz appeared in a total of 52 games in 2019-2020 for the ‘Canes totaling 29 points, including 16 goals and 13 assists along with 49 penalty minutes and a plus-6 rating while serving as an Alternate Captain.

We thank Dino for his contributions in our community and his leadership both on and off the ice.


Past Winners:

2018-2019: Jake Elmer
2017-2018: Jake Elmer
2016-2017: Tyler Wong
2015-2016: Tyler Wong
2014-2015: Andrew Nielsen
2013-2014: Jamal Watson
2012-2013: Russell Maxwell
2011-2012: Brody Sutter
2010-2011: Mitch Maxwell
2009-2010: Carter Bancks
2008-2009: Carter Bancks & Carter Ashton
2007-2008: Carter Bancks & Adam Chorneyko
2006-2007: Kris Hogg
2005-2006: Mark Olafson
2004-2005: Aaron Sorochan
2003-2004: Logan Koopmans
2002-2003: Andy Thompson
2001-2002: Ryley Layden
2000-2001: Brian Bellman
1999-2000: Jason Hegberg
1998-1999: Kris Knoblauch
1997-1998: Shane Willis
1996-1997: Dale Purinton
1995-1996: Randy Perry
1994-1995: Scott Townsend
1993-1994: Jason Widmer
1992-1993: Jamie Pushor
1991-1992: Jamie Pushor
1990-1991: Jamie McLennan & Brad Rubachuk
1989-1990: Jamie McLennan & Dusty Imoo
1988-1989 Brad Rubachuk

More News
Hurricanes Claim Kindree Off Waivers
1 hour ago
02-27-2021: Hurricanes (2) vs. Oil Kings (7)
2 days ago
Hurricanes Handed Second-Straight Loss Saturday
2 days ago
GAME DAY: Hurricanes Welcome Oil Kings in Dairy Queen Home Opener
2 days ago
Highlights: Hurricanes (1) at Oil Kings (7)
2 days ago
Hurricanes Drop Opener in Edmonton
3 days ago