Team Awards: Hockey Hounds Scholastic Player Award

The Hockey Hounds Scholastic Player of the Year Award is given to the Hurricanes’ top student athlete each season. The Hockey Hounds Scholastic Award winner in 2019-2020 is Hurricanes forward Alex Thacker.

Thacker showed a strong balance as a student-athlete during the 2019-2020 hockey season maintaining good grades while excelling on the ice. He is a very strong student who has consistently demonstrated a strong work ethic, a dedicated focus on his courses, a keen intellect, and respect as a leader amongst his peers. His teachers have regularly commented on his attention to their courses, and his great attitude when facing the many challenges that face high school students while playing in the WHL.

“Alex is a very worthy candidate to represent the Lethbridge Hurricanes as their Scholastic Player of the Year,” said Hurricanes Education Advisor Jim Stewart. “Alex has handled a rigorous academic load while working extremely hard to be the best hockey player he can be.”

On the ice, Thacker appeared in 55 games with the Hurricanes in his first year in the WHL totaling 25 points, including four goals and 21 assists with 16 penalty minutes and a plus-1 rating. Thacker finished third in rookie scoring on the Hurricanes.


Past Winners:

2018-2019: Logan Barlage
2017-2018: Logan Barlage
2016-2017: Josh Tarzwell
2015-2016: Tyler Wong
2014-2015: Tyler Wong
2013-2014: Tyler Wong
2012-2013: Craig Leverton
2011-2012: Adam Henry
2010-2011: Michael Sofillas
2009-2010: Philip Tot
2007-2008: Craig Orfino & Brennan Yadlowski
2006-2007: Drew Todd
2005-2006: Dwight King
2004-2005: Michael Kaye
2003-2004: Colton Yellow Horn
2002-2003: DJ King
2001-2002: DJ King
2000-2001: Matt Fetzner
1999-2000: Derek Ruck
1998-1999: Brady Block
1997-1998: Shaun Sutter
1996-1997: Luc Theoret
1995-1996: Bryce Salvador
1994-1995: Bryce Salvador
1993-1994: David Trofimenkoff
1992-1993: David Trofimenkoff
1991-1992: David Trofimenkoff
1990-1991: Lance Burns
1989-1990: Darcy Werenka
1988-1989: Casey McMillan
1987-1988: Peter Schmid

More News
2021-2022 Season Tickets Available Monday
4 months ago
Hurricanes & WHL Announce Full Regular Season Schedule
1 week ago
Repcik Inks with Hurricanes
2 weeks ago
Luke Prokop makes history as first openly gay WHL player
2 weeks ago
NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Nolan Bentham
2 weeks ago
Canadian Hockey League announces new multi-year broadcast partnerships
2 weeks ago
Hurricanes Sign Klavdiev to WHL Contract
3 weeks ago