Team Awards: Joan Kobal Memorial Award

The Joan Kobal Memorial Award – which awards a player who best demonstrates perseverance, dedication, and sportsmanship both on and off the ice – in 2019-2020 is Hurricanes defenceman Ty Prefontaine.

Prefontaine appeared in 63 games in 2019-2020 totaling 28 points along with 45 penalty minutes and a plus-43 rating. The product of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan set new career-highs in points (28), assists (25) and plus/minus (+43) which was also tied for a Hurricanes franchise record for best plus/minus rating in a single season.

“Ty is everything that being a Hurricane is all about,” said Hurricanes head coach Brent Kisio. “He worked hard every day and he led his teammates the right way and was a guy that was friends with everyone on the team but could also keep guys accountable and that is one of the many reasons he was one of our captains this year.

He was dedicated to being a Hurricane and was proud to be a Hurricane and wanted to win a Championship, it’s just sad to see him not get the chance this past year, but he will always be a Hurricane for life and he is everything you want future Hurricanes to be.”

Prefontaine, who was named the 27th Captain in franchise history, served as a Co-Captain for the second half of the 2019-2020 season. In his career, the overage defenceman appeared in a total of 244 regular season games with the Hurricanes totalling 69 points (10g-59a) along with 189 penalty minutes and a plus-96 rating.


Past Winners:

2018-2019: Jordy Bellerive
2017-2018: Logan Flodell
2016-2017: Stuart Skinner
2015-2016: Giorgio Estephan
2014-2015: Giorgio Estephan
2013-2014: Tyler Wong
2012-2013: Michael Sofillas
2011-2012: Brady Ramsay
2010-2011: Brody Sutter
2009-2010: Austin Fyten
2008-2009: Craig Orfino
2007-2008: Nick Hotson
2006-2007: Jacob Dietrich
2005-2006: Jacob Dietrich
2004-2005: Brennan Chapman
2003-2004: Scott Bolland
2002-2003: Brett O’Malley
2001-2002: Tim Green
2000-2001: Ryley Layden
1999-2000: Brian Ballman
1998-1999: Eric Godard
1997-1998: Mike Varhaug
1996-1997: Bryce Salvador
1995-1996: Bryce Salvador
1994-1995: Bryce Salvador
1993-1994: Jason Widmer
1992-1993: Jason Widmer
1991-1992: Jason Widmer
1990-1991: Terry Hollinger
1989-1990: Pat Pylypuik
1988-1989: Peter Berthelsen
1987-1988: Peter Berthelsen

More News
Stringer to Donate to Canadian Cancer Society
2 months ago
Online Paint Auction
6 days ago
2021-2022 Season Tickets Available Monday
4 weeks ago
Hurricanes End Season with OT Loss in Edmonton
2 days ago
GAME DAY: Hurricanes Travel to Edmonton for Final Game of Season
2 days ago
Highlights: Hurricanes (6) at Tigers (3)
2 days ago
05-02-2021 - Hurricanes (2) vs. Tigers (6)
4 days ago
Hurricanes End Home Sked with 6-2 Loss to Tigers
4 days ago
GAME DAY: Hurricanes Welcome Tigers in Final Meeting of Season
4 days ago